Freedom Cup

Freedom Cup - South Africa v New Zealand

The Freedom Cup is a relatively new competition contested between New Zealand and South Africa since 2004 as part of the Tri Nations Championship. In its inaugural year the Freedom Cup was decided by the result of the one match between South Africa and New Zealand at Ellis Park, Johannesburg where the Spingboks won 40 - 26 en route to becoming the Tri Nations Championship Winners.

In 2006 and 2007 the format of the Freedom Cup changed to incorporate all the tests played between the two sides during the tri Nations, with New Zealand winning the cup for two years running.

Freedom Cup Winners:

Year Winner Won Defeats Draws
2007 New Zealand 2 0 0
2006 New Zealand 2 1 0
2004 South Africa 2 0 0